Child Restraint Law

The Ohio Revised Code states that children under 4 years of age or less than 40 pounds must ride in a child restraint safety system. The October 2009 addition to the law requires children between the ages of 4 and 7 to ride in a booster seat until they weigh 40 pounds or more and are taller than 4 feet, 9 inches.

Ohio's child restraint law calls for adult seat belts for children between the ages of 8 and 14. Persons 15 years of age and older are covered by a separate Ohio seat belt law, according to IIHS. That law requires seat belt use in all seating positions for 8 to 14 year-olds. For those over 15, the law only mandates seat belt use in the vehicle’s front seats.